Tags

, , , ,

Although today is technically a Bank Holiday, time is dragging, so I’ve made a start on the list of ‘work to do during the holidays‘ from before Christmas. I’ve started with #4

#4: Set your goals for the coming year

Deutsch: Ein Torhüter in einem Jugendspiel in ...This year is largely about making money. I’m thoroughly fed up with not having enough. I’d like to start paying taxes again. So goal #1 is:

  • Earn 3,000 euros per month (36,000 euros/year)

This is somewhat incompatible with goal #2:

  • Reach the auto-entrepreneur earning limit of 32,000 euros

So I guess I’ll have to take four weeks holiday. That’s ok. Moving on:

  • Become a member of the French translator’s association

Which should be easy, but probably won’t be. Moving on:

  • Have half a dozen major clients

That should be enough to keep me in business all year round without being overwhelmed.

  • Do some marketing activities every month

This is either mailing brochures, emailing potential clients, or going to events.

  • At the beginning of each month, set my goals for that month
  • At the end of each month, record my successes (and maybe failures)
  • Stop worrying about everything and enjoy the ride!

If this last one is the only thing I’ve achieved by the end of the year, I’ll be happy.

January 2012

The mini-goal for this month is to put together an initial list of contacts for a snail-mail marketing campaign (see the things-I-don’t-want-to-do list of last month!) and to have a brochure to advertise the translation business ready by the end of the month at the latest.

