Tags

, ,

Influences in English vocabulary

Influences in English vocabulary

I spent much of today working on the French website. I have two websites for the business, one in English for editing, and another in French for translation. The English one has been around for a while now and brings in some business. The French one is new, and I don’t think anyone has visited it yet. As it exists at the moment, it’s a one page affair. Very simple, it does nothing more than say, hello, I’m here!

The new site is much fancier, much more comprehensive and has some original features. But, it has to be in French. I’d written a first draft of all the content in French, but of course I wouldn’t consider making it live without having it checked over by a native French speaker. We made good progress, but there’s still a way to go. It’s not live yet, but maybe next week, with a bit of luck.

SEO. All it’s cracked up to be?

I’ve been surprised by how well the English website has worked as a marketing tool. I’ve put zero effort into SEO (Search Engine Optimisation) and the like, but people still tell me they found me though a web search.

The French Domain

I’m puzzled by how few French-to-English translators have websites in the French domain (i.e. mywebsite.fr rather than mywebsite.co.uk). Anyone who is looking for a translation speaks French, not English, and looking at French, not English websites. Hmm.

