Tags

,

Image representing Google Analytics as depicte...

Now that the new website is up and running, I’m quickly becoming obsessed with Google Analytics. For those who don’t know what it’s all about, it’s a bit of code that you add to your website that gathers information about who is visiting your site. Google Analytics aggregates it and provides you with a multitude of ways of analysing it.

The simple stuff

The simple stuff is how many people visit your site each day. So, since I installed the code on 17th October 2011, I’ve had a grand total of 37 visits (it might not sound much, but it’s early days and 37 is 37 more than zero). Thursday and Friday (10th and 11th November) were the best performing days with five visitors each.

But there’s more!

French visitors

However, every time I use it, I find something new. The most recent discovery is that you can see where your visitors are coming from. My 37 visitors have come from seven different countries. I’m happy to see that 26 are in France, but I’m wondering how the one person in Burundi found me. And there’s more! You can even see where in the country they are. So, of the French visitors, the majority (nine) are from Loriol sur Drome, two more than Paris.

How cool is that!

