Tags

, , , ,

The Problem

Marine of the United States Marine Corps runs ...

Ooh, I'm feeling better already 🙂

I’m sliding into depression (again). I know I said the other day I was disheartened and depressed. At the time, I thought it was a one-off, but it’s starting to take hold. I know the symptoms, I’ve been there before. For me, they include irrational irritability, feelings of hopelessness and despair, and wondering what the point is of getting out of bed in the morning.

I don’t think I’ve always been depressed, but I know that since I moved to France, I’ve changed. I gained an unlimited supply of croissants and a bank account in a currency that can be used throughout Europe, but I lost easy access to all my friends and family. New friends have proved hard to find, despite ongoing efforts. It doesn’t help at all that I’m home alone for the vast majority of the time. I reckon my lifestyle would send even the most hardened introvert a little doolally.

The Solution

I been here before and I know the way out. Exercise. When I’m exercising regularly I can keep on an even keel – even when things are going badly.  I haven’t done any exercise since mid-September and I’ve almost had a feeling of watching myself get lower and lower. Trouble is, it’s easy to get out of the routine, and it’s hard to get back into it. Especially when the days are getting colder, shorter and more depressing. And the more down you get, the harder it is to do the thing that will make you feel better.

I’m on a slippery slope, so today I began to put a stop to it. I’m just back from an outing on my bike. It was only half an hour, and frustrating to see (yet again) how much I’ve lost in fitness over the past ten weeks. But I’ve done it. And I feel better already. Now I’ve started, I just have to keep going.

Hmmm. See yesterday’s post about the word ‘just’!

