Tags

, , , ,

Comparison of desktop publishing softwareFirst, the to-do list (items in red are still-to-start):

  • learn to use Wordfast
  • get active in proz
  • prepare the flyer
    I’ve started to tackle this. I’ve found a nifty little agency called The BeeHive Studio. I like their samples, and I’m thinking about asking them for a quote for what I  now know is called a 3-fold brochure. I’ve worked with enough designers to appreciate that they have skills I don’t have. Meanwhile I’ve downloaded a desktop publishing application and started to put together some ideas. Even if I hire a designer, I still have to come up with the content. Hmm. Not easy.
  • create a marketing prospects list
  • draft an email
  • draft a (marketing) letter
  • send cv to agency

Next year

This is a "thought bubble". It is an...In other news, I read this article today. It’s by a guy called Ed Gandia. I’ve read a lot of his stuff this year, and it’s usually very good. Of his ten tips, 1, 2, 3, 8, 9 and 10 are either done, or I don’t need to be told to do them. However, 4, 5, 6 and 7 are things I need to get onto. They are namely:

#4: Set your goals for the coming year.

This is a great time to start thinking about what you want to accomplish next year — both personally and professionally. Why wait until January to figure it out?

#5: Strategic planning.

Don’t stop there. After setting your goals, draft a realistic but aggressive action plan. Break down your goals into milestones or key action items. (By the way, I used to break things down to the monthly and weekly level but have since found that general milestones or guideposts work best for me. I just can’t seem to plan a whole year of my life down to the week!)

#6: Write Your 2012 “Story.”

If the last two suggestions seem too mechanical for you, try what my friend Dianna Huff does: write your “story” for 2012, an idea she got from reading the book The Art of Possibility by Rosamund Zander. Dianna actually sits down and writes a detailed story what her entire life will look like next year — the events that will take place, the amazing things that will happen, everything! “This year everything in my story came true except two things,” says Dianna. “It’s been amazing!”

#7: Plan your marketing for next year.

Assemble a well-thought-out plan to promote your services next year. The plan should include the different marketing strategies you plan to use, when you’ll get started, what your first action steps will be and how you’ll measure success.

