Tags

, , ,

Just before Christmas I was talking about contacting a design agency about creating a brochure to advertise the business. Well, thanks to me, I did it.

However, it’s not quite going the way I wanted.  I specifically asked if they had standard rates for this kind of thing. I just want to know what it usually costs – $60, $200, $1000? Quick and simple. What I got back was the question, ‘where are you?’ I couldn’t really see what that had to do with the price of fish, but anyway I answered the question. Now there are more questions. Do I have the copy? Did I have a design in mind? Who is going to do the printing? etc. etc.

I’d love to be helpful

You know, I’d love to be helpful, but I’m losing interest. It’s going to take me half an hour to write an email to answer all these questions when all I want to know is roughly how much it’s going to cost. I don’t mind if all they can say is ‘it depends – it can range from x to y depending on whether you want a, b or c’, but I want them to do the typing, not me.

Multiple choices

All in all, this little exercise of being in the position of the client is proving to be a very useful. I think I’m going to be far less inclined in future to ask my own potential clients any questions that they will have to spend time on (especially right at the beginning of the contact). It looks like a better strategy is to offer them a range of solutions to choose from depending on their circumstances and suggest they pick the one that suits them best.

