Tags

, , ,

"EASTER EGG ROLLING, WHITE HOUSE" &q...

Today is Easter Monday, a Bank Holiday both in France and the UK. Everyone else has a day off, but I’m working. And that suits me just fine. It’s odd how disconnected you get from the customs of the rest of the world, and how odd they seem when your life isn’t directed by the need to go out to work at the same time as everyone else. I didn’t even realise it was going to be Easter until Thursday by when I was already committed to a full day’s work on Friday and Monday.

But it’s great! Because I’m not obliged to synchronise my holidays with an employer, or  the national calendar, I had two days off last week. There were no crowds, no traffic jams, and no feeding frenzy at the supermarket. I can take my Bank Holiday on whatever day suits me best. I might take another one tomorrow, when everyone else has gone back to work 🙂

