Tags

, , , ,

Invoice

Well, although I’ve neglected the blog, there’s been a few developments over the past few days.

The brochure

First, the brochure is approaching its final form. It’s taken forever. Totally my fault. I’ve dragged my heels at every step of the way. But it’s starting to look not good, but great! We might be done by the end of next week.

Wordfast anywhere

Second, I’ve had another go at translation tools, in particular Wordfast Anywhere.  After a fair amount of palaver I managed to sign up for the (paid, I’m not sure they mention this beforehand) Google Translate service which can be integrated into WA (and MemoQ methinks).  After more experimentation, I’m still baffled by how people find this useful unless they spend their lives translating lists of car parts. First, you can only really see a sentence at a time, but I usually translate a sentence in the context of its paragraph. Second, how do you deal with footnotes? Third, how does it handle tables? To be fair, the document I was working with didn’t have any, so I didn’t get to test it. But above and beyond all this, it seems to be impossible to re-order either sentences, or (don’t tell anyone I suggested this) whole paragraphs. I’ll keep picking it up from time to time. Maybe eventually it will grow on me, but for now, my plain old word processor still meets all my needs.

InstaInvoice

And last but not least, yesterday was spent working on what looks like it’s going to turn out to be a Really Useful Tool. Like most freelancers (I suppose), I keep track of work in a spreadsheet. I also prepare estimates and invoices. As time has gone on, I’ve realised that maintaining this info and preparing estimates and invoices takes up a disproportionate amount of time, and  involves a lot of copying and pasting from estimate to spreadsheet to invoice and back again. So, I’ve started work on a tool that will enable me to record all the necessary info once, in the spreadsheet, and automatically, at the click of a button generate either an estimate or an invoice. Perfectly formatted, with all the necessary information. How good is that! Work is progressing nicely, and when it’s finished I think I’ll call it InstaInvoice. Coming to a website near you soon 🙂

