Tags

, ,

Map of the number of Norwegian people in the w...

Map of the number of Norwegian people in the world. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh lordy, its day five of editing the Norwegians’ book chapters and it’s doing my head in. At first I thought they were really, really clever and I couldn’t understand their work because it was so complex and difficult. Now I realise it’s just immensely confused writing. It makes me think that this is the case for much of science, and a lot of the reason why many people avoid it. They think it’s difficult to understand and they’re not clever enough to grasp it. But in fact, the problem lies in the fact that it’s really really hard to write in a way that explains ideas fluently and clearly.

It’s exhausting work. I can only do a maximum of two hours stints. After that my head is so fried I have to go and lie down for a while. In fact, I’ve started displacement activities. I keep finding reasons to go to the shops or read something else, just to avoid working on the Norwegian stuff. I can’t even say it’s nearly done. I’m five chapters into a twelve chapter book and I’ve heard there is worse to come 😦

In other news, yesterday someone asked me to quote on their article about dog-walking… I’m keen to do it. They’re not Norwegian 🙂

