Tags

The 12-16 hour daily schedule of the past two weeks or so is finally over. The heavy lifting is done, and the last batch of the big project was delivered yesterday. Four weeks’ work accomplished in two weeks. What a herculean effort!

The project that has taken up the vast majority of my time this week has been something a bit different. Usually I’m translating narrative texts – articles and papers that basically tell a story. This week I’ve been translating a web application – lots of single words, category names and headings. Together with a staggering amount of paraphrasing of legal texts. It’s very different to what I’m used to, and I think, probably much more like what a lot of translators do for a day job. It’s a very different approach. Accuracy and correct form is much more important than flow.

It’s been interesting to experience the difference and broaden my experience, but I’ll be pretty happy to get back to translating stories 🙂